May 18, 2024

County Commissioners

Timothy Thomas
PO Box 387
Bowdle, SD 57428
Email: [email protected]

Morris Grosz
PO Box 625
Ipswich, SD 57451
Email: [email protected]

Micheal J. Geditz
13861 358th Ave
Ipswich, SD 57451
Email: [email protected]

Chad Preszler
12760 338th Ave
Hosmer, SD 57448
Email: [email protected]

Dean Mehlhaff
161 Lucinda Lane
Mina, SD 57451
Email:  [email protected]


Often scrutinized and seldom recognized is the important role of the men and women who shoulder the responsibility of county government through service as a County Commissioner.  Edmunds County has a board of 5 Commissioners who are elected to staggered terms of 4 years.

They are responsible for the oversight of every service that Edmunds County provides. In general, County Commissioners are responsible for the care and preservation or sale of all county property; the audit of accounts of all officers having the care, management, collection or disbursement of any money belonging to the county; levying taxes; construction and repair of bridges; to open, lay out, vacate and change highways; to purchase or acquire grounds for courthouse, jail or other building sites; to establish election precincts in the county and appoint the judges of elections; and as a board of equalization, to equalize the assessment roll of the county in the manner provided by law; to furnish necessary equipment and supplies for county offices; to superintend the fiscal concerns of the county and secure their management in the best possible manner; to regulate the transaction of business in alcoholic beverages; to make ordinances prohibiting the sale or exhibition of any obscene matter; and for zoning, solid waste and water management along with a host of other issues that arise affecting Edmunds County.