COUNTY COMMISSION MEETING IPSWICH, SOUTH DAKOTA February 8, 2022

The Edmunds County Board of Commissioners met at 9:00 A.M. on February 8, 2022 at the county courthouse. Members present were: Dean Mehlhaff, Morris Grosz, Jerome Schaffner, Chad Preszler, and Timothy Thomas. Chairman Thomas called the meeting to order at 9:00 A.M. Others present for portions of the meeting were: Vaughn Beck, Kyle Couchey, Daniel Hardison, Michael Jager, and Jonathan Waldner.

MINUTES APPROVED: Motioned by Schaffner, seconded by Mehlhaff to approve the minutes of the January 18, 2022 regular meeting. Motion carried.

CLAIMS APPROVED: Phone & Utilities: Bowdle City Office \$52.35; Century Link 53.40; FEM Electric Association 841.37; Ipswich City Office 219.08; Montana Dakota Utilities 1,486.66; Midcontinent Communications 216.00; Reuer Sanitation 39.00; Valley Telecommunications 313.37; Venture Communications 83.27; Verizon Wireless 353.38.

Professional Services: Vaughn P. Beck \$1,550.00; First Concord Benefits Group 91.50; SD Public Health Laboratory 40.00; Taliaferro Law Firm 3,635.95.

Publishing: Gibson Publishing Co \$940.14; The Pride of the Prairie 344.19.

Supplies, Parts & Repairs: Auto Value Parts Stores \$161.37; Bowdle Building & Hardware Center 58.59; Century Business Products 106.63; Connecting Point 79.00; Crawford Trucks & Equipment 2,355.85; Dakota Ink & Toner 799.93; Girton Adams Company 495.00; Government Forms & Supplies 134.16; Ipswich Lumber & Hardware 19.47; Med Glove Supply 77.95; Microfilm Imaging Systems 337.00; Pheasant Land Industries 217.91; Quill Corporation 116.74; Rock Tuff 118.42; Safety Service 1,524.28; SD Department of Transportation 1,209.81; Syhre Construction 237.44; Thee Glass Doktor 123.50; Tiger Post 100.00; TranSource Truck & Equipment 3,179.46; US Bank 2,234.23.

Motioned by Grosz, seconded by Mehlhaff to pay all above claims. Motion carried.

RESOLUTION – COMMISSIONER DISTRICT BOUNDARIES: The following resolution was introduced by Commissioner Grosz, who moved its adoption: Resolution #2022-2-1, Edmunds County Resolution to Change the Boundaries for Commissioner Districts. The motion to adopt the resolution was seconded by Preszler. Roll call vote: Mehlhaff – yes, Grosz – yes, Schaffner – yes, Preszler – yes, Thomas – yes. Resolution adopted.

WHEREAS, according to SDCL 7-8-10, the Board of County Commissioners, at its regular meeting in February of each year ending in the numeral two, shall change the boundaries of the commissioner districts if such change is necessary in order that each district shall be as regular and compact in form as practicable and contain as near as possible an equal number of residents, as determined by the last preceding federal census; and

WHEREAS, results of the federal census, taken in the year 2020, did determine it to be necessary to change the boundaries of the existing commissioner districts of Edmunds County, South Dakota, in order to contain, as near as possible, an equal number of residents in each district; and

WHEREAS, Notice of Public Hearing, to change the commissioner district boundaries, has been published in the official newspapers of Edmunds County, according to SDCL 7-8-12.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Edmunds County Board of Commissioners, at the regular meeting held on February 8, 2022, adopted the new boundary changes, for the Edmunds County Commissioner Districts, as follows:

District #1 - Represented by Commissioner Dean Mehlhaff:

Precinct #1: Voting at The M Station (Townships: Belle, Cortlandt, Clear Lake, Pembrook, and Richland).

District #2 - Represented by Commissioner Morris Grosz:

Precinct #2: Voting at 4-H Building in Ipswich (City of Ipswich; less residents North of US Hwy 12 and East of 4th Street).

District #3 - Represented by Commissioner Jerome Schaffner:

Precinct #3: Voting at 4-H Building in Ipswich (Townships: Cleveland, Fountain, Harmony, Ipswich, Kent, Liberty, Powell, Rosette, Union, and the Northeast section of Ipswich City (North of US Hwy 12 and East of 4th Street)).

District #4 - Represented by Commissioner Chad Presler:

Precinct #4: Voting at Roscoe Fire Hall (Townships: Adrian, Bryant, Glen, Glover, Huntley, Montpelier, North Bryant, Vermont and the City of Roscoe).

Precinct #6: Voting at Hosmer Fire Hall (Townships: Hosmer, Sangamon and the City of Hosmer).

District #5 - Represented by Commissioner Timothy Thomas:

Precinct #5: Voting at Bowdle Multi-Purpose Center (Townships: Bowdle, Cloyd Valley, Cottonwood Lake, Hillside, Hudson, Madison, Modena, Odessa and the City of Bowdle). Dated this 8th day of February, 2022 at Ipswich, South Dakota.

- RANGELAND FIRES: Moved by Schaffner, seconded by Mehlhaff to adopt Resolution #2022-2-2, which designates Tracy Hutson, Todd Holtz, and Chad Preszler, as the authorized individuals to request assistance from the South Dakota Wildland Fire Coordinator for the suppression of rangeland fires within Edmunds County, as specified in SDCL 41-20A-11. A complete copy of the resolution is on file in the Edmunds County Auditor's Office. Roll call vote: Mehlhaff yes, Grosz yes, Schaffner yes, Preszler yes, Thomas yes. Resolution adopted.
- **EXECUTIVE SESSION:** Motioned by Mehlhaff, seconded by Preszler to enter into executive session at 9:18 A.M., according to SDCL 1-25-2(1). Motion carried. Executive session declared over at 9:55 A.M.
- **CORONER:** Motioned by Mehlhaff, seconded by Schaffner to terminate all prior Deputy Coroner appointments and approve the Coroner's appointment of Kelsey A. Holien, and Brent W. Koens as Deputy Coroners for Edmunds County, effective February 8, 2022. Motion carried.
- **HIGHWAY MOWER:** Motioned by Preszler, seconded by Schaffner to authorize the purchase of a new Schulte FX-1800 Rotary Mower from Butler Machinery Company in the amount of \$26,360.61. Motion carried.

- **TRAVEL AUTHORIZATION:** Motioned by Mehlhaff, seconded by Preszler to allow Scott Hedlund, dispatcher, to attend the SD NCIC Limited Access Omnixx Terminal Operator training in Pierre on February 8, 2022. Motion carried.
- CARBON DIOXIDE PIPELINE: Darrell Davis, Brittney Duvall, Sidney Feickert, Mark Lapka, Bruce Mack, Scott Moore, Douglas Perrion, Kenneth Shafer, Richard Schumacher, Susie Treftz, David Usselman, Earl Weisenburger, Herb Wipf, and Timothy Wipf were present for the pipeline discussion. Dan Lederman and Grant Terry, Summit Carbon Solutions, presented an overview and answered questions concerning the proposed carbon dioxide capture pipeline.
- **MEETINGS SCHEDULED:** The next regular Edmunds County Commissioner Meetings will be held at 9:00 A.M. on February 22nd and March 8th.

ADJOURN: Motioned by Grosz, seconded by Mehlhaff to adjourn at 12:10 P.M. Motion carried.

Timothy Thomas Chairman of the Board

Published once at the total approximate cost of \$_

ATTEST

Keith Schurr

Edmunds County Auditor